List of Union Council of Ministers 2019

List of Union Council of Ministers 2019: Council Ministers are the executive authority in the Republic India led by the Prime Minister.

It consists of senior ministers, called ‘cabinet ministers’, junior ministers, called ‘ministers of state’ and, rarely, deputy ministers.

There are 5 categories of the council of ministers

  1. Prime Minister
  2. Deputy prime minister
  3. Cabinet minister
  4. Minister of State (independent charge)
  5. Minister of State (MoS).

The government of India released the list of Cabinet Ministers and their portfolios 2019.  

Note: During the period of PM Indira Gandhi, She held additional charge of the all-important portfolio from 1970-71.

A total of 24 Cabinet Ministers took oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, followed by 9 Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and 24 Ministers of State.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi can have as many as 80 ministers in the 543member Lok Sabha. With current appointments, the total number of Union ministers in 17th Lok Sabha is 57.

Here’s the Complete List of Union Council of Ministers 2019 and their portfolios 2019, under the Modi 2.0 government.

Here is a complete list of all lists of Union Council of Ministers 2019 which helps to Aspirants for SSC(CGL, Multitasking), RRB(JE, NTPC, Group-D) and all competitive examination.

Prime Minister and

Also in charge of:

Ministry of Personnel,

Public Grievances and Pensions,

Department of Atomic Energy,

Department of Space



Shri Narendra Modi


SI No.PortfolioMinisterParty
1Shri Amit ShahMinister of Home AffairsBJP
2Shri Arjun MundaMinister of Tribal Affairs.BJP
3Shri Arvind Ganpat SawantMinister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprise.Siva sena
4Shri Dharmendra PradhanMinister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Minister of Steel.BJP
5Shri D.V. Sadananda GowdaMinister of Chemicals and Fertilizers.BJP
6Shri Gajendra Singh ShekhawatMinister of Jal Shakti.BJP
7Shri Giriraj SinghMinister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying, and Fisheries.BJP
8Dr. Harsh VardhanMinister of Health and Family Welfare; Minister of Science and Technology; and Minister of Earth Sciences.BJP
9Smt. Harsimrat Kaur BadalMinister of Food Processing Industries.SAD
10Dr. Mahendra Nath PandeyMinister of Skill Development and EntrepreneurshipBJP
11Shri Mukhtar Abbas NaqviMinister of Minority Affairs.BJP

Shri Narendra Singh Tomar

Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare; Minister of Rural Development; and Minister of Panchayati Raj.


13Smt. Nirmala SitharamanMinister of Finance; and Minister of Corporate Affairs.BJP
14Shri Nitin Jairam GadkariMinister of Road Transport and Highways; and Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.BJP
15Shri Piyush GoyalMinister of Railways; and Minister of Commerce and Industry.BJP
16Shri Prakash JavadekarMinister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and Minister of Information and Broadcasting.BJP
17Shri Pralhad JoshiMinister of Parliamentary Affairs; Minister of Coal; and Minister of MinesBJP
18Shri Raj Nath SinghMinister of Defence.BJP
19Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’‘Nishank’

Minister of Human Resource Development.

20Shri Ramvilas PaswanMinister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public DistributionLJP
21Shri Ravi Shankar PrasadMinister of Law and Justice;  Minister of Communications; and Minister of Electronics and Information TechnologyBJP
22Smt. Smriti Zubin IraniMinister of Women and Child Development; and Minister of TextilesBJP
23Dr. Subrahmanyam JaishankarMinister of External AffairsIndependent
24Shri Thaawar Chand GehlotMinister of Social Justice and EmpowermentBJP


Ministers of State (Independent Charge)


SI No.PortfolioMinister(Independent Charge)Party
1Shri Hardeep Singh PuriMinistry of Housing and Urban Affairs;  Ministry of Civil Aviation; Commerce and Industry.BJP
2Rao Inderjit SinghMinistry of Statistics and Programme Implementation; Ministry of PlanningBJP
3Dr. Jitendra SinghMinistry of Development of North Eastern Region,

Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office,

Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions,

Minister of State in the Department of Atomic Energy,

Minister of Department of Space.

4Shri Kiren RijijuMinistry of Youth Affairs and Sports,

Ministry of Minority Affairs.

5Shri Mansukh L. MandaviyaMinistry of Shipping, Ministry of Chemicals and FertilizersBJP
6Shri Prahalad Singh PatelMinistry of Culture, Ministry of TourismBJP
7Shri Raj Kumar SinghMinistry of Power,

Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

8Shri Santosh Kumar GangwarMinistry of Labour and EmploymentBJP
9Shri Shripad Yesso NaikMinistry of Ayurveda, Yoga, and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH);

Ministry of Defence




SI No.PortfolioMinistersParty
1Shri Angadi Suresh ChannabasappaMinistry of Railways.BJP
2Shri Anurag Singh ThakurMinistry of Finance, and  Ministry of Corporate Affairs.BJP
3Shri Arjun Ram MeghwalMinistry of Parliamentary Affairs, and

Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises.

4Shri Ashwini Kumar ChoubeyMinistry of Health and Family Welfare.BJP
5Shri Babul SupriyoMinistry of Environment, Forest and Climate ChangeBJP
6Shri Danve Raosaheb DadaraoMinistry of Consumer Affairs, Food, and Public Distribution.BJP
7Shri Dhotre Sanjay ShamraoMinistry of Human Resource Development; Ministry of Communications; and Ministry of Electronics and Information TechnologyBJP
8Shri Faggansingh KulasteMinistry of Steel.


9Shri G. Kishan ReddyMinistry of Home AffairsBJP
10Shri Krishan PalMinistry of Social Justice and EmpowermentBJP
11Shri Kailash ChoudharyMinistry of Agriculture and Farmers WelfareBJP

Shri Nityanand Rai

Ministry of Home Affairs.BJP
13Shri Parshottam RupalaMinistry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare.BJP
14Shri Pratap Chandra SarangiMinistry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises, and Ministry of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries.BJP
15Shri Ramdas AthawaleMinistry of Social Justice and EmpowermentRPI(Republican party of India)
16Shri Rattan Lal KatariaMinistry of Jal Shakti; and Ministry of Social Justice and EmpowermentBJP
17Shri Rameswar TeliMinistry of Food Processing IndustriesBJP
18Smt. Renuka Singh SarutaMinistry of Tribal AffairsBJP
19Shri Sanjeev Kumar BalyanMinistry of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries.BJP
20Sadhvi Niranjan JyotiMinistry of Rural DevelopmentBJP
21Shri Som ParkashMinistry of Commerce and IndustryBJP
22Sushri Debasree ChaudhuriMinistry of Women and Child DevelopmentBJP
23General (Retd.) V. K. SinghMinistry of Road Transport and HighwaysBJP
24Shri V. MuraleedharanMinistry of External Affairs; and

Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.


In every competitive examination Current Affairs like current events,sports ,Brand Ambassador ,CEO or newly  Appointment , current CM and Governor are most important part of GK .List of Union Council of Ministers 2019 is important current affairs for all competitive examinations.

You can read also:

Leave a Comment

Copy link