Parts of Indian Constitution

There are Twenty-five (25) Part of the Indian Constitution which are lists in the constitution that categorize and tabulate bureaucratic activity and government policy.

What is the Constitution?

Constitution of a country is the living document of laws and provisions for the governance. The World’s lengthiest written constitution is the Indian Constitution.

The Constitution of India was framed by a Constituent Assembly set up under the Cabinet Mission Plan, 1946 and it was adopted on November 26, 1949.

It came into existence on 26 January 1950.

To frame the Constitution It took 2 years 11 months and 18 days.

At starting the original Constitution had 395 Articles and 8 schedules.

 At present, the Constitution of India contains the following.

  • The Preamble
  • 25 Parts (Part I to XXII)
  • Over 448 Articles
  • 12 schedules
  • About 103 Amendments

Indian Constitution is:

Part-I (Articles 1-4):

Deals with the territory of India Formation of new states, alterations of names and areas of existing states.

Part-II (Articles 5-11):

Deals with various provisions related to Citizenship.

Part-III (Articles 12-35):

Deals with the Fundamental Rights of Indian citizens.

Part-IV (Articles 36-51):

Deals with the Directive Principles of State Policy(DPSP).

Part-IV A (Article 51A):

 Added by 42nd Amendment in 1976. It contains the Duties of the citizens.

 Part-V (Articles 52-151):

Deals with Government at the Union Level (Duties and Functions of Prime Minister, Minister, President, Vice- President, Attorney General, Parliament- LokSabha and Rajya Sabha, Comptroller and Auditor-General).

Part-VI (Articles 152-237):

 Deals with Government at State Level  (Duties and Functions of Chief Minister Iand his Ministers, Governor, State Legislature, High Court, Advocate General of the state)

Part-VII (Article 238):

Deals with states in part B was deleted in 1956 by the 7th Amendment.

Part-VIII (Articles 239-241):

Deals with Union Territories.

Part IX(Article 243-243-O) :

Added by 73rd Amendment in 1992. It contains a new schedule ‘Schedule Eleven’.  It contains 29 subjects related to Panchayati Raj.  (They have been given administrative powers).

 Part IX-A (Article 243P-243- ZG):

Added by the 74th Amendment act in 1992. It contains a new schedule ‘Schedule Twelve’. It contains 18 subjects related to Municipalities (They have been given administrative powers).

Part- IX B (243-ZH t0 243-ZT):

Deals with the Co-operative Societies.   

Part-X (Articles 244, 244A):

Deals with Scheduled and Tribal Areas.

Part-Xl (Articles 245-263):

Deals with the relationship between Union and states.

Part-XII (Articles 264-300A):

 Deals with a distribution of revenue between Union and states, Appointments of finance commission (Article 280), contracts, liabilities, etc.

Part-XIII (Articles 301-307):

Relates to Trade, Commerce, and Intercourse within the Territory of India.

Pact-XIV (Articles 308-323):

Deals With Civil Service and Public Service Commission.

Part-XIV A (Articles 323A, 323B):

Deals with  Administrative Tribunals set up by parliament to hear disputes and complaints regarding union, states or local govt.employee.

Part- XV (Articles 324-329):

Deals with Elections (including Election Commission).

Part-XVI (Articles 330-342):

Deals with special provisions for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes and Anglo-Indian Representation.

Part-XVII (Articles 343-351):

Relates to Official Language.

Part-XVIII (Articles 352-360):

 Deals with Emergency Provisions.

Part-XIX (Articles 361-367):

 Miscellaneous Provisions.

Part-XX (Article 368):

Deals with Amendment of Constitution

Part-XXI (Article 369-392):

Contains Temporary, Transitional and Special Provisions.

Part-XXII (Article 393-395):

Concerns the short title, commencement, and repeal of the Constitution.

You can read also

Schedule of Indian Constitution

Leave a Comment

Copy link